Meet the Author

Courtland Consulting Child Support System Team


In September of 2019, South Carolina became the last state to receive a federally certified child support system. Courtland Consulting partnered with Xerox and the state to implement the Palmetto Automated Child Support System (PACSS). We also assisted in the deployment of KidStar for the State Disbursement Unit (SDU). With their partners, Courtland created a multi-level training and support endeavor for the South Carolina PACSS Implementation.  The training plan was developed around the Go-Live Schedule for the state’s 46 clerk of court offices, four regional offices, the central office, and the SDU. Courtland developed and delivered trainings and training materials for over 2,000 employees, covering everything from initiating cases to working with the Child Support Enforcement Network (CSENet).

Learning Management System Analysis and Implementation

One of the training requirements for the South Carolina PACCS project was to assist in the selection of a learning management system. Our team performed an extensive needs analysis and worked with vendors to secure demos for stakeholders. Eventually the Cornerstone LMS was selected which our team implemented to host training materials and track registration. We also used the announcement capabilities to push system outage and other enterprise-wide notifications.

Implementation Project Management

Courtland provided project management oversight for the implementation process and managed the team of 41 training, site support, and help desk professionals. Our on-site system specialists were in the counties to assist employees with the new system and to answer questions as they developed. For additional assistance, Courtland provided a PACSS Help Desk that became part of the state’s system information department.

The Palmetto Automated Child Support System (PACSS) was initially rolled out to four pilot counties in South Carolina. The counties that were involved in the pilot implementation were: Aiken, Fairfield, Sumter, and York. The remaining 42 counties were split up into 4 regions. They were implemented a region at a time over the next year.  Our Courtland Team was proud to be a part of the CFS Project team. 

Share via
Copy link